Tim Moore vs Luke Morris; David Butt vs Greg Atzori title fights headline Eternal 14

Luke Morris

Eternal MMA returns with two title fights headlining this weekend’s big fight card. David Butt will be looking to defend his lightweight title against the experienced Greg Atzori while flyweight champion Tim Moore meets in-form challenger Luke Morris.

The fourteenth installment for the promotion takes place this Saturday, 12 December at the Nerang Police Citizens Youth Club on the Gold Coast in Queensland, Australia.

After losing out to Shaun Etchell back in 2014, Tim Moore evened the ledger in September this year with a unanimous points win to claim the Eternal flyweight title. The win was the PUMMA trained fighter’s third in a row after previously defeating Ryan Lambert and Commonwealth Games wrestler Shane Parker.

His challenger, Luke Morris from the C4 MMA gym in Coffs Harbour is on a three fight win streak of his own and has lost only once since dropping to flyweight. That loss came at the hands of UFC fighter Ben Nguyen back in 2013. Morris had a stellar 2014, capturing the Nitro flyweight title and picking up victories against Michael Roger, Chris Morris and Edwin Arana which was his last outing back in November 2014.

Integrated Hervey Bay trained Greg Atzori will make his Eternal debut and challenge for the lightweight title after a trio of victories in the last 12-months. Atzori submitted Brad Terrey in December last year, before winning via TKO against Nick Robbins to capture the Fightworld Cup lightweight title in August. He backed that up with a main event win at Superfight against Abel Brites.

Looking to halt Atzori’s impressive form will be current Eternal lightweight champion David Butt. Originally from Tasmania and now basing himself out of PUMMA on the Gold Coast, Butt had an impressive nine bouts in the 2014 calendar year. One of the wins was for the Eternal lightweight title against Jason Preece before suffering back-to-back losses outside the promotion. Butt defeated Brett Jacobsen back in May on Eternal MMA 10, however the fight was deemed a non-title bout after Butt failed to make the contracted weight.

There has been a late scratching from the card with the fight between Darcy Vendy and Daniel Almeida being cancelled after Vendy was forced out due to an injury.

Fight Card (A-Class):

  • Tim Moore (c) vs Luke Morris – Eternal flyweight title
  • David Butt (c) vs Greg Atzori – Eternal lightweight title
  • Jason Preece vs Brett Jacobsen

Fight Card (B-Class):

  • Marcus Golloway vs Corbin Robertson
  • Maxine Smith vs Alex Dale
  • Tammy Taylor vs Seini Palu
  • Shiva Rama Smyth vs Dan Bramich
  • Elton Pure vs Josh Porth
  • Cody Watego vs Corey Wickens
  • Mark Slomovic vs Jordan Garcie
  • Glen Pettigrew vs Loni Doyle
  • Casey O’Neill vs Sam Egan
  • Lamin Merah vs Vinnie Stagnetti
  • Ben Salim vs Jacob Williams
  • Juwaan Terekia vs Ezra James
  • Jake Simkins vs Dave Lennard
Started Martial Arts training after watching Mr Miyagi and Daniel-son in Karate Kid back in 1987. By the time MMA arrived many years later, I was hooked. Coverage of local MMA was via scarce posts on forums like the Underground and Sherdog. I embarked on covering the sport in 2002 and since then have written thousands of articles for both print and online media, before branching out and starting Fight News Australia in 2010. Outside the site, I dream of riding in an F1 car.