Eternal 50: Ricky Biechun wins tournament to claim inaugural heavyweight title

Ricky Biechun claimed the one-night four-man heavyweight tournament at Eternal 50 and in the process walking away with the inaugural heavyweight title.

The event took place in Auckland, New Zealand last night and was streamed live on UFC Fight Pass.

Biechun, trains out of Metamorphica and has spent time training with Jimmy Crute and Ben Sosoli in recent months.

Biechun met Fightcross MMA trained Jack Tuave who came into night disposing of his last opponent in less than 5-seconds back in November. In a back-and-forth clash, Biechun walked away with the unanimous decision and would meet the winner of the clash between Henri Burns from City Kickboxing and Damian Maru from Universal Vale Tudo.

It would be Burns who would progress to the final winning a clear unanimous decision.

With both fighters going the full three rounds in their opening tournament bouts, recovery and conditioning would play a big part in the final for both Biechun and Burns.

The Victorian fighter Beichun would ultimately get his hand raised edging a split-points decision against a game Burns. Both showed a massive heart to go the full six rounds in one night.

Also on the card, New Zealand veteran, B.J. Bland made it two on the trot with an impressive first-round submission over Iain Blade to put himself back in line for title contention in the lightweight division while City Kickboxing teammate Mike Diamond scored entertaining decision victory against the ever tough Dimps Gillies.

Results (Pro):

  • Ricky Biechun def. Henri Burns via Decision (Split) – Eternal heavyweight title (Tournament final)
  • B.J. Bland def. Iain Blade via Submission (Guillotine Choke), Rd 2, 0:40
  • Mike Diamond def. Dimps Gillies via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Talor Wetere def. James McBride via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke), Rd 1. 1:59
  • Henri Burns def. Damian Maru via Decision (Unanimous) – Heavyweight Tournament
  • Ricky Biechun def. Jack Tuave via Decision (Unanimous) – Heavyweight Tournament

Results (Amateur):

  • Carl Van Roon def. Paul McMah via TKO, Rd 1,1:53
  • Hone Milnes-Win def. Gary McDonald via Submission (Armbar), Rd 1, 1:27
  • Jason Sun def. Alex Sele via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Fergus Jenkins def. Ezra Berhan via Submission (Head-Arm Choke), Rd 2, 1:40