XFC 39 Recap: After losing main event; amateur title fights headlined card

XFC 39 took a massive blow days from the event with the headlining fight between XFC lightweight champion Jackson Small and Shem Murdoch cancelled due to an injury suffered by the champ.

With the scrapping of the main event two amateur title fights moved up to headline the card with a lone pro fight remaining on the card which took place at the Mansfield Tavern on Brisbane’s Southside.

In that pro fight, Sam Flint, representing Integrated MMA, made a spectacular XFC debut when he stopped Mirko Nuotatore within 90-seconds of the fight. Flint dropped his opponent with heavy knees before a flurry punches forced the referee to halt the fight.

The amateur fights did not disappoint with a mixture of submissions, spectacular and quick finishes entertaining the crowd with two new amateur title holders crowned.

Loni Filimoehala from the Gamebred Academy fought hard to secure an armbar, ultimately getting the tap to dethrone the XFC amateur super-lightweight champion Michael Tepou.

Connor Birch from Tribal MMA & Fitness toughed it out to earn a TKO stoppage versus Brandon Cox to capture the XFC amateur lightweight title. Birch secured mount in the third round where he rained down shots and with Cox not improving his position, the referee intervened to end the contest.

Fight Card (Pro):

  • Sam Flint def. Mirko Nuotatore via TKO, Rd 1

Fight Card (Amateur):

  • Loni Filimoehala def. Michael Tepou via Submission (Armbar) – XFC amateur super-lightweight title
  • Connor Birch def. Brandon Cox via TKO, Rd 3 – XFC amateur lightweight title
  • Tai Hardy def. Brendan Smith via Decision (Unanimous)
  • David Chand def. Eric Cox via TKO, Rd 1
  • Rafael Vilches def. Mark Richardson via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Alex Young def. Jarvis Wickham via TKO, Rd 1
  • Michael Mamaril def. Cale Burge via TKO, Rd 3
  • Sebastian Szalay def. William Rosen via Decision
  • Viktor Lyall def. Emanuel Camilleri via Decision
  • Luke Zilic def. Marcus Horvath via TKO
  • Adnan Khan def. Cody Moras via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke), Rd 1
  • Alex Romano def. Ryan Bishop via KO, Rd 1
  • Zane Brassington def. Zach Blair via KO, Rd 1