XFC 34: Kaela Banney captures inaugural XFC atomweight title

Kaela Banney put on an impressive performance to bring home the inaugural XFC women’s atomweight title belt last night at the Mansfield Tavern in Queensland

The 20-year-old, who has been competing a high level since the age of 13 was a step ahead of her opponent Brooke Kenrick and took home the decisive decision on all three judges cards after five rounds of action, worthy of a main event. The scorecards read 50-45, 50-45 and 49-46.

Originally from Gladstone and now training out of Fight Club Jiu Jitsu under head coach Daniel Lima, Banney moves to 3-2 and gave credit to both her current team and her previous team, Gladstone MA, for getting her where she is. Kenrick drops to 1-1.

Also on the card, Paul Loga scored a second consecutive victory, defeating Matt Seden via unanimous decision while Jackson Small secured a third round stoppage against his opponent Ray Skellern.

In the only other professional bout on the card, Nick Skidmore secured an impressive first-round submission over Josh Robson.

Results (Pro):

  • Kaela Banney def. Brooke Kenrick via Decision (Unanimous) – XFC women’s atomweight title
  • Paul Loga def. Matt Seden via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Jackson Small def. Ray Skellern via TKO (Strikes), Rd 1, 3:22
  • Nick Skidmore def. Josh Robson via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke), Rd 1, 3:45

Results (Amateur):

  • Viet Anh Do def. Darren Habben (c) via TKO (Referee Stoppage), Rd 2, 2:33 – XFC amateur flyweight title
  • Sarah Archer def. Jessica Lavers-McBain via Decision (Majority) – XFC amateur women’s strawweight title
  • Tom Nolan (c) def. Brandon Stowers via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke), Rd 2, 1:34 – XFC amateur featherweight title
  • Carlin Bull def. Michael Tepou via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke), Rd 3, 1:52
  • Sean Olsen def. Corey Reeves via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke), Rd 2, 2:39
  • Sam Dobb def. Joel Fotofili via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Pat Cronin def. Jai Ruane via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Bilal Omer def. David Chand via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke), Rd 2, 1:43
  • Ryan McCracken def. Josh Robson via Submission (Triangle Choke), Rd 2, 1:20
  • Jayden Binnie def. Dean Christou via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke), Rd 2, 2:03