XFC 34: Brooke Kenrick vs Kaela Banney headlines after Eynaud vs Anderson scrapped

For the first time, XFC will have a women’s bout headlining an event after the atomweight title fight between Brooke Kenrick and Kaela Banney was promoted to main event status earlier today. Former welterweight title challenger Brogan Anderson was scheduled to headline however an ankle injury forced his opponent Jayden Eynaud from the card days out from the event.

It’s the second main event that has fallen through for the Queensland based promotion after lightweight prospect Isaac Hardman was forced out of his fight against BJ Bland over a fortnight ago.

The event, XFC 34 returns to the Mansfield Tavern on Friday night.

Although on 20-years-old, Kaela Banney will have experience on her side having been competing since her early teens and spending a large amount of time training and living in Thailand. Originally from Gladstone and now training out of Fight Club Jiu Jitsu on the Gold Coast, Banney last entered the cage back in December 2016 where she was edged out by international fighter Ibu Takamori at Aftershock MMA.

After a mixed run in the amateur ranks, Kenrick made an impressive professional debut back in November at XFC 32, where she made ultra quick work of Leigha Aurisch forcing her to submit in the first round. Kenrick trains out of the respectable Combat Lab gym at Coolum Beach.

Also on the card, Paul Loga will be looking at making it two on the trot when he faces Matt Seden, while Jackson Small faces Ray Skellern.

The event will feature three amateur title bouts showcasing some of the best up-and-coming talent.

Fight Card (Pro):

  • Kaela Banney vs. Brooke Kenrick – XFC women’s atomweight title
  • Matt Seden vs. Paul Loga
  • Jackson Small vs. Ray Skellern
  • Nick Skidmore vs. Josh Robson

Fight Card (Amateur):

  • Darren Habben (c) vs. Viet Anh Do – XFC amateur flyweight title
  • Sarah Archer vs. Jessica Lavers-McBain – XFC amateur women’s strawweight title
  • Tom Nolan (c) vs. Brandon Stowers – XFC amateur featherweight title
  • Carlin Bull vs. Michael Tepou
  • Corey Reeves vs. Sean Olsen
  • Sam Dobb vs. Joel Fotofili
  • Pat Cronin vs. Jai Ruane
  • David Chand vs. Bilal Omer
  • Josh Robson Jr. vs. Ryan McCracken
  • Jayden Binnie vs. Dean Christou