Storm Damage 7 Results: Ugur Kocak, Ben Sosoli, Chad Price take home titles in Canberra

Storm Damage 7 took place on Saturday night at The Auditorium at Erindale Vikings, Wanniassa, ACT.

The light heavyweight, heavyweight and welterweight titles were all contested on the night, and three new champions were crowned by the end of it.

The event, which was streamed live at, was originally scheduled to feature a four-man tournament to decide the light heavyweight champion, however injuries and weight issues left Michael Spencer and Ugur Kocak to contest it.

The remaining two participants of the tournament met in the main event, where Storm MMA’s Kocak stopped Spencer by KO in just 16 seconds with a flurry of punches to snatch the vacant light heavyweight title.

The heavyweight title fight between Andrew Machin and Benjamin Sosoli in the co-main event went the full five rounds, and in the end, Sosoli was crowned the new champion by a split points decision. Sosoli looked to have the advantage in the boxing department, and took Machin down on several occasions. Machin, however, continually worked his way back up in a good show of resilience. The former champion also did well to attack the legs of Sosoli throughout.

Following the fight, Machin announced his retirement from competitive MMA.

Brotherhood MMA’s Chad Price out-struck the now former champion Jon Leven to snatch the welterweight title with a third round TKO.

The fight was contested primarily on the feet. Leven took centre cage as Price circled on the outside. Price looked confident with his standup and landed more volume and with better quality strikes. The Newcastle based fighter remained elusive and accurate throughout the encounter and constantly switched up his striking, frustrating Leven, who had trouble connecting with anything significant. The end came in the third round, where Price really let loose and bloodied up the Sydney based veteran with multiple knees in the clinch before finishing him with punches against the cage.

Full Unofficial Results:

  • Ugur Kocak def Michael Spencer via KO (Punch), Rd 1, 0:16 – Storm Damage light-heavyweight title
  • Benjamin Sosoli def Andrew Machin via Decision (Split)– Storm Damage heavyweight title
  • Chad Price def Jon Leven via TKO (Punches), Rd 3, 3:48 – Storm Damage welterweight title
  • Kevin Manderson def Leo Diaz via Submission (Arm-bar), Rd 1, 2:42
  • Joe Pollock def Ryan Green via KO (Headkick), Rd 2, 0:34
  • Jamie Carl def David Adamthwaite via TKO (Headkick & Punches), Rd 1, 2:14
  • Ben Metcalf def Jake Parkes via Decision (Split)
  • Jarrod Farlow def Joel Downey-Cave via Technical Submission (Triangle Choke), Rd 1, 2:28
  • Greg Wiltshire def Blair Dennett via Decision (Split)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *