Reece McLaren submits opponent at One: Mark of Greatness

Australian Bantamweight Reece McLaren made short work of his Canadian/Indian counterpart Gurdarshan (Gary) Mangat at ONE Championship: Mark of Greatness last night.

The event took place on Friday night in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia at Axiata Arena.

McLaren shot in for the takedown early on his opponent, bringing Mangat down to the canvas. For most of the round, McLaren worked himself into submission openings from top position, but Mangat was aware enough to defend. McLaren’s experience shined through as he was patient and methodical in his transitions, eventually securing full mount where he reigned down with heavy ground-and-pound until the opening for a submission arose.


Former ONE World Title challenger Reece "Lightning" Mclaren 🇦🇺 locks in a rear-naked choke on Gurdarshan Mangat in Round 1!📺: How to watch 👉🏨: Book your hotel 👉📱: Watch on the ONE Super App 👉🏷: Shop official merchandise 👉

Posted by ONE Championship on Friday, 6 December 2019

McLaren locked up the rear-naked choke to get the tap as the 28-year-old got his career back on track after consecutive defeats. The former title challenger moves to 13-7 in his pro career.

The event was headlined by a pair of kickboxing title belts where Sam-A Gaiyanghadao defeated Wang Junguang via unanimous decision for the Strawweight title while Alaverdy Ramazanov won the bantamweight belt with a decision victory over Zhang Chenglong.

Full Results (Kickboxing):

  • Sam-A Gaiyanghadao def. Wang Junguang via Decision (Unanimous) – One strawweight kickboxing title
  • Alaverdi Ramazanov def. Zhang Chenglong via Decision (Unanimous) – One bantamweight kickboxing title
  • Andrei Stoica def. Anderson Silva via KO, Rd 1, 1:57

Full Results (MMA):

  • Denice Zamboanga def. Jihin Radzuan via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Agilan Thani def. Dante Schiro via Decision (Split)
  • Reece McLaren def. Gurdarshan Mangat via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke), Rd 1, 4:35
  • Bokang Masunyane def. Ryuto Sawada via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Chen Rui def. Muhammad Aiman via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Tial Thang def. Kim Woon Kyoum via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Yoon Chang Min def. Rodian Menchavez via Submission (Ninja Joke), Rd 2, 1:45
  • Rayane Bastos def. Sovannahry Em via Submission (Guillotine Choke), Rd 1, 2:40

Full Results (Muay Thai):

  • Elias Mahmoudi def. Lerdsila Phuket Top Team via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Taiki Naito def. Rui Botelho via Decision (Unanimous)
David Lewellin is a Melbourne based contributor for Fight News Australia.