Aydin Mrouki loses hard-fought decision against Rolando Dy at Pacific X-treme Combat 55

Aydin Mrouki rallied late against Rolando Dy at Pacific X-treme Combat 55 on Friday night but it wasn’t enough in the eyes of the judges with the Sydney based featherweight losing a unanimous decision after three rounds.

Although Mrouki had his moments in the opening two rounds of the fight, it was Dy who arguably got the better of the striking exchanges, landing hard leg kick and punch combinations. The Filipino was also able to get the fight to the canvas on a couple of occasions. He was unable to do much once there however, with the Aussie doing well to nullify his ground attack. Dy began to visibly slow in the closing moments of the second frame while Mrouki picked up the pace and began to land with combinations of his own.

Possibly needing a finish going into the final frame, Mrouki picked up where he left off and really poured it on against the Filipino, backing the stocky fighter up against the fence with a relentless array of combinations. Looking exhausted throughout the round, Dy desperately worked to get the fight to the floor and stall Mrouki’s momentum. The Aussie did well to stay standing and the round closed out with Mrouki coming forward trying to finish the fight.

There was no love lost going into the clash after weeks of back and forth between the two fighters on social media. Following the fight, however, the two tentatively shook hands while Dy took to the microphone to apologise for calling the Aussie a terrorist in the lead-up.

This was the second appearance in the promotion for the Aussie after his entertaining win against Jaypee Espinosa at PXC 53.

Dy was originally scheduled to face former featherweight champ Alex Volkanovski at the event, that was until Volkanovski signed with the UFC.

PXC 55 took place at the UOG Calvo Fieldhouse in Guam. A full replay of the event can be found here.


  • Trevin Jones def. Kyle Aguon via Decision (Split)
  • Riley Dutro def. Darren Uyenoyama via TKO, Rd 1, 2:46
  • Rolando Dy def. Aydin Mrouki (Australia) via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Stephen Loman def. Mark Abelardo (New Zealand) via Decision (Unanimous)
  • JJ Ambrose def. Dylan Fussel via Decision (Unanimous)
  • Go Minamide def. Josh Alvarez via TKO, Rd 1, 0:24
  • Frank Meno def. Pejo Camacho via KO, Rd 1, 3:48
  • Jeffrey Mesa def. Justin Quichocho via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke), Rd 2, 1:36